Technical Program

Thursday, May 30, 2019

Session 40: Interactive Presentations 4
2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Committee: Interactive Presentations

Session Co-Chairs:


Die Thickness Optimization for Preventing Electro-Thermal Fails Induced by Solder Voids in Power Devices
Dario Vitello - STMicroelectronics
Andrea Albertinetti - STMicroelectronics
Marco Rovitto - STMicroelectronics

Reversed Pulsed Electrodeposition of Nanostructured Nickel Tungsten with Controlled Grain Structure as an Effective Diffusion Barrier Layer
Nazila Dadvand - Texas Instruments, Inc.
Chris Manack - Texas Instruments, Inc.
Salvatore Pavone - Texas Instruments, Inc.

3-T Decoupling Capacitors for Improved PDN in LPDDR4/4X/5 System
Sunil Gupta - Qualcomm Technologies, Inc.

Improved Correlation Between Accelerated Board Level Reliability (BLR) Testing and Customer BLR Results Using A Hybrid Closed-Form/Finite Element Methodology
Maxim Serebreni - DfR Solutions
Natalie Hernandez - DfR Solutions
Gil Sharon - DfR Solutions
Nathan Blattau - DfR Solutions
Craig Hillman - DfR Solutions

Fabrication and Reliability Demonstration of 3 µm Diameter Photo Vias at 15 µm Pitch in Thin Photosensitive Dielectric Dry Film for 2.5 D Glass Interposer Applications
Daichi Okamoto - Taiyo Ink Mfg. Co., Ltd.
Yoko Shibasaki - Taiyo Ink Mfg. Co., Ltd.
Daisuke Shibata - Taiyo Ink Mfg. Co., Ltd.
Tadahiko Hanada - Taiyo Ink Mfg. Co., Ltd.
Fuhan Liu - Georgia Institute of Technology
Mohanalingam Kathaperumal - Georgia Institute of Technology
Rao R Tummala - Georgia Institute of Technology

Pre-Cure Modification of Electrically Conductive Adhesive for Low Temperature Interconnection
Jinto George - University de Sherbrooke
David Danovitch - University de Sherbrooke
Alexandre Leblanc - IBM Corporation
Eric Savage - IBM Corporation

RDL-1st Fan-Out Panel Level Packaging (FOPLP) for Heterogeneous and Economical Packaging
Nagendra Sekhar Vasarla - Institute of Microelectronics A*STAR
Srinivasa Rao Vempati - Institute of Microelectronics A*STAR
F. X Che - Institute of Microelectronics A*STAR
Ser Choong Chong - Institute of Microelectronics A*STAR
Kazunori Yamamoto - Institute of Microelectronics A*STAR

Epoxy Composites With Surface Modified Silicon Carbide Fillers for High-Temperature Molding Compounds
Fan Wu - Georgia Institute of Technology
Nicholas C Mitchell - Georgia Institute of Technology
Bo Song - Georgia Institute of Technology
Kyoung-Sik Moon - Georgia Institute of Technology
CP Wong - Georgia Institute of Technology

Ultra-Low Resistivity and High Electrical Stability Silo-Ag ECAs Produced from Curing Chemistry Optimization for Flexible Electronics
Xueqiao Wang - Georgia Institute of Technology
Kyoung-Sik Moon - Georgia Institute of Technology
Bo Song - Georgia Institute of Technology
C.P. Wong - Georgia Institute of Technology

Physics of Failure Based Simulation and Experimental Testing of Quad Flat No-Lead Package
Jia-Shen Lan - National Sun Yat-Sen University
Mei-Ling Wu - National Sun Yat-Sen University

Study of Design Optimization Method for Ultra-Low Power Micro Gas Sensor
Eiji Nakamura - IBM Research
Keiji Matsumoto - IBM Research
Andrea Fasoli - IBM Research
Luisa Bozano - IBM Research
Hiroyuki Mori - IBM Research

An Assessment of Electromigration in 2.5D Packaging
Jiefeng Xu - Binghamton University
Huayan Wang - Binghamton University
Jing Wang - Binghamton University
Stephen R. Cain - Binghamton University
Scott McCann - Xilinx, Inc.
Ho Hyung Lee - Xilinx, Inc.
Gamal Refai-Ahmed - Xilinx, Inc.
S.B. Park - Binghamton University

Diffusion Enhanced Drive Sub 100 ˚C wafer Level Fine-Pitch Cu-Cu Thermocompression Bonding for 3D IC Integration
Asisa Kumar Panigrahy - Indian Institute of Technology, Hyderabad
Tamal Ghosh - Indian Institute of Technology, Hyderabad
Siva Rama Krishna Vanjari - Indian Institute of Technology, Hyderabad
Shiv Govind Singh - Indian Institute of Technology, Hyderabad

Extremely Detailed Package Level Thermal Modeling for an Enhaced Understanding of Passive Cooling Techniques in Wireless Products
Daniel Cox - Intel Corporation
Bhagyashree Ganore - Intel Corporation
Richard Perry - Intel Corporation
Sidharth Dalmia - Intel Corporation

Development of Sheet Type Molding Compound for Panel-Level Package
Akira Nakao - Sanyu Rec Co., Ltd.
Kazuhiro Dohi - Sanyu Rec Co., Ltd.
Yui Suzuki - Sanyu Rec Co., Ltd.
Masakazu Hirose - Sanyu Rec Co., Ltd.

Defect Detection for the TSV Transmission Channel Using Machine Learning Approach
Huan Liu - Peking University
Runiu Fang - Peking University
Min Miao - Beijing Information Science & Technology University
Yufeng Jin - Peking University

Direct Printing of Heat Sinks, Cases and Power Connectors on Insulated Substrate Using Selective Laser Melting Techniques
Rabih Khazaka - Safran
Donatien Martineau - Safran
Toni Youssef - Safran
Thanh Long Le - Safran
Stephane Azzopardi - Safran

Novel Solder Pads for Self-Aligned Flip-Chip Assembly
Yves Martin - IBM Corporation
Swetha Kamlapurkar - IBM Corporation
Nathan Marchack - IBM Corporation
Jae-Woong Nah - IBM Corporation
Tymon Barwicz - IBM Corporation

Integration and Characterization of InP Dies on Silicon Interconnect Fabric
Eric Sorensen - University of California, Los Angeles
Boris Vaisband - University Of California, Los Angeles
SivaChandra Jangam - University of California, Los Angeles
Tim Shirley - Keysight Technologies
Subramanian S. Iyer - University of California, Los Angeles

Server CPU Package Design Using PoINT Architecture
Arun Chandrasekhar - Intel Corporation
Vijaya Boddu - Intel Corporation
Erich Chuh - Intel Corporation
Krishna Bharath - Intel Corporation
Farzaneh Yahyaei-Moayyed - Intel Corporation
Srikrishnan Venkataraman - Intel Corporation
Sriram Srinivasan - Intel Corporation
Ram Viswanath - Intel Corporation
Ritesh Jain - Intel Corporation
Huthasana Kalyanam - Intel Corporation

Highly Reliable Die Attach Silver Joint with Pressure-Less Sintering Process
Sihai Chen - Indium Corporation
William Shambach - Rochester Institute of Technology
Jordan Palmer - Rochester Institute of Technology
Christine LaBarbera - Indium Corporation
Xuanyi Ding - Cornell University
Ning-Cheng Lee - Indium Corporation

3D Power Packaged Device Thermo-Mechanical Modeling and Stress Analysis after Reliability Trials
Lucrezia Guarino - STMicroelectronics

High-Density Ultra-Thin Organic Substrate for Advanced Flip-Chip Package
Nokibul Islam - STATS ChipPAC Pte. Ltd.
Seung Wook Yoon - STATS ChipPAC Pte. Ltd.
KH Tan - STATS ChipPAC Pte. Ltd.
Tony Chen - STATS ChipPAC Pte. Ltd.

Low-Loss Additively-Deposited Ultra-Short Copper Paste Interconnections in 3D Antenna-Integrated Packages for 5G and IoT Applications
Atom Watanabe - Georgia Institute of Technology
Nobuo Ogura - Nagase & Co., Ltd.
Yiteng Wang - Georgia Institute of Technology
Markondeya R. Pulugurtha - Georgia Institute of Technology
Vanessa Smet - Georgia Institute of Technology
Manos Tentzeris - Georgia Institute of Technology
Rao Tummala - Georgia Institute of Technology

Direct Bonding of Low-Temperature Heterogeneous Dielectrics
Serena Iacovo - IMEC
Lan Peng - IMEC
Alain Phommahaxay - IMEC
Fumihiro Inoue - IMEC
Patrick Verdonck - IMEC
Soon-Wook Kim - IMEC
Erik Sleeckx - IMEC
Andy Miller - IMEC
Gerald Beyer - IMEC
Eric Beyne - IMEC

Twist Testing for Flexible Electronics
Justin Chow - Georgia Institute of Technology
Jeffrey Meth - DuPont
Suresh Sitaraman - Georgia Institute of Technology

Millimeter Wave Dual Polarization Design using Frequency Selective Surface (FSS) for 5G Base-Station Applications
Chi-Hau Yang - National Sun Yat-Sen University
Chung-Yi Hsu - National Sun Yat-Sen University
Lih-Tyng Hwang - National Sun Yat-Sen University