Technical Program

Program Sessions: Wednesday May 31st 2:00 PM – 5:05 PM

Session 12: mm Wave Antenna-in-Package and Arrays
Committee: RF, High-Speed Components & Systems
Room: Mediterranean 7 & 8

Session Co-Chairs:

Jaemin Shin
Qualcomm Technologies, Inc.
Email: [email protected]

Yong-Kyu Yoon
University of Florida
Email: [email protected]


1. A Scalable Heterogeneous AiP Module for a 256-Element 5G Phased Array
Duixian Liu – IBM Corporation
Xiaoxiong Gu – IBM Corporation
Christian Baks – IBM Corporation
Koichiro Masuko – Fujikura, Ltd.
Yujiro Tojo – Fujikura, Ltd.
Gokul Chandran – Fujikura, Ltd.
Arun Paidimarri – IBM Corporation
Atom Watanabe – IBM Corporation
Yuta Hasegawa – Fujikura, Ltd.
Xu Lei – Fujikura, Ltd.
Ning Guan – Fujikura, Ltd.
Alberto Valdes-Garcia – IBM Corporation

2. Metamaterial and Through Fused Silica Via (TFV) Based Compact 4 x 4 Patch Antenna-in-Package for 28.5/24 GHz Frequency Handover Applications
Payman Pahlavan – University of Florida
Suk-il Choi – University of Florida
Alexander Wilcher – University of Florida
Hae-in Kim – University of Florida
Hanna Jang – University of Florida
Yong-Kyu Yoon – University of Florida

3. A Low-Cost Antenna-in-Package (AiP) for D-Band Application
Hung-Chun Kuo – Advanced Semiconductor Engineering, Inc.
Po-I Wu – Advanced Semiconductor Engineering, Inc.
Sheng-Chi Hsieh – Advanced Semiconductor Engineering, Inc.
Ming-Fong Jhong – Advanced Semiconductor Engineering, Inc.
Chen-Chao Wang – Advanced Semiconductor Engineering, Inc.

4. A New Millimeter-Wave Package Design Based on Pseudo-Cavity Mode Electromagnetic Wave Excitation Using 400 µm Core FCBGA
Ryuichi Oikawa – Renesas Electronics Corporation
HIDEKI SASAKI – Renesas Electronics Corporation

5. 5G mmWave Patch Antenna Array on Extremely Low Loss Alumina Ribbon Ceramic Substrates for Antenna-in-Package (AiP)
Cheolbok Kim – Corning, Inc.
Hoon Kim – Corning, Inc.
Rajesh Viddi – Corning, Inc.
Eun Ju Moon – Corning, Inc.
David Peters – Corning, Inc.

6. A Novel Approach to Measure and Characterize Radiation Patterns of Antenna-in-Package
Aditya Jogalekar – University of Texas, Dallas
Oscar Medina – University of Texas, Dallas
Mahadevan Iyer – Amkor Technology, Inc.
Rashaunda Henderson – University of Texas, Dallas
Rajen Murugan – Texas Instruments, Inc.
Harshpreet Bakshi – Texas Instruments, Inc.
Hassan Ali – Texas Instruments, Inc.

7. Design and Fabrication of A Sub-THz Co-Reflectively Curved Patch-Reflector Antenna Array for Gain Enhancement and Near Field Focusing
Ching-Jen Lee – National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University
Pin-Cheng Tseng – National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University
Wei-Chian Wang – National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University
Yun-Hao Liou – National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University
Yu-Ting Cheng – National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University
Chien-Nan Kuo – National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University